Royal Mint Silver Lunar Series

First launched in 2014, The Royal Mint Silver Lunar Series are part of the Shēngxiào (or "Chinese Zodiac") Collection.

The collection is specifically for the United Kingdom and celebrates Chinese tradition with exemplary British craftsmanship. It will run for 12 years, from 2014 to 2025, and is also available in the gold Lunar Series. In 2020 the series was changed to a proof commemorative range only, with the bullion coins discontinued.

These coins are fine silver, and prices shown include fully insured delivery.

Sort by:

The first five coins were designed by British-Chinese artist and printmaker, Wuon-Gean Ho, with each unique design linked to one of 12 Chinese zodiac animals, whose personality traits are attributed to those born during that year. In 2019, the Royal Mint opted to use Harry Brockway to design the Year of the Pig series, and in 2020 Irish children's illustrator P.J Lynch was hired to design the new Year of the Rat coins.

The obverse of all the coins features Queen Elizabeth II’s fifth definitive portrait, as created by Jody Clark of the Royal Mint, with 2024 and 2025 issues featuring King Charles III.

Made from 99.99% pure silver, they are very popular with both investors and collectors. BullionByPost® is a fully authorised Royal Mint distributor.