Russian Coins

Russian Rouble Gold Coins were minted from 1895 through 1911 and the most popular are the 5 and 10 Roubles denominations. These Russian Gold coins were the official currency of the Empire for nearly 500 years until the new brass plated steel rouble was introduced. The coins were also used as currency in the Soviet Union for 25 years. Each Gold Rouble Coin features the Imperial Coat of Arms on its reverse, as well as the seal of His Imperial Majesty – a shielded double eagle with the crowns representing Russia, Astrakhan and Kazan.

The Chervonetz is a Russian gold coin first minted in 1923, shortly after the end of the Russian Civil War and one year after the founding of the Soviet Union.The minting history of the Chervonetz is quite interesting, because between the years 1923 through 1925 and the resumption of mintage from 1975 through 1982 there is a large time gap. Only the 10 Rouble-Chervonetz gold coins minted from 1975 to 1979 are suited as investment coins. The coinage in these years was high, often in the millions, and so not of interest for collectors.

Sort by: